Showing posts with label remove course. Show all posts
Showing posts with label remove course. Show all posts

28 May 2013

Managing My Courses

Once a user's enrollment exceeds 50 courses with the same role, Desire2Learn no longer can safely display all of them on a single page and the "Last 10 accessed courses" box appears. You can search for a course by name and term code. This is the four-digit code that identifies a term and is part of the course offering code. Here is the syntax:

  1. First digit is always a 1
  2. Second third digits are the last two digits of the calendar year
  3. Fourth digit is 3 for spring, 6 for summer, and 9 for fall.
For example, the term code for summer 2013 is 1136. Note that the term code is not included in the course offering code for a developmental course offering. Those include the string _dev_, so you could type that to find all of your development course offerings.

You can also move any of your course offerings to another tab in your My Courses widget by changing your role within each course offering. Desire2Learn creates a new tab in this widget for each role. This is helpful also if you  no longer want to see course offerings from previous terms (think of it as "de-cluttering" the widget). There is a role called "Prior Term" that has the same privileges as the Instructor role. [VIDEO DEMO]

24 May 2011

Recycling course offerings

Desire2Learn does not have a recycle tool like Blackboard does, so if you are done with a development course offering and want to start over from scratch, you can clear out the material using each tool's delete function. Here are some things to keep in mind:
  • Not all course files may be deleted when you delete topics and modules on the Manage Content page, so check the Manage Files page to see if anything is there after you delete content topics and modules
  • Grade items cannot be deleted if they are associated, so clear the discussion, dropbox, and quizzes areas before you clear grades
  • Before you can remove discussion topics or forums, dropbox folders, or quizzes, click the Delete button on those pages first - you have to enable the ability to delete before deleting anything on those pages
  • To see the bulk delete option for news items, click on the Show All link at the bottom of the News widget first

24 September 2009

Remove Course Offerings

The process for removing course offerings is the same regardless of its creation process:

  • Make the course inactive
    On the Edit Course page, select Course Offering Information, uncheck the box indicating the course is active, and click Save.
  • Change your role within the course to Student
    On the Classlist page, select your name, click the Change enrollment button, change your role to Student on the following page, and click Save.